Club Committee Elections

Five new members of the Farmers Club Committee are announced

 Farmers Club

The Chairman, Mrs Anne Chamberlain, is delighted to announce that the following five members of the Club have been elected to the General Committee, to serve for three years from 1 January 2016: 

Mr Robert Alston of Norfolk - owner and manager of a 480ha (1200 acre) arable and beef farming enterprise with property interests, director of Anglia Farmers Ltd, owner of a digestate storage and transport business, investment banking career and private equity interests, liveryman of the WCF, trustee of The Clan Trust.

Mr Andrew Brown of Leicestershire – mixed farmer, Farmers Club Committee 2011-13 (membership chair 2012-13), NFU Regional chairman 2010-15, Oxford Farming Conference director 2012-15, associate of the Royal Agricultural Societies, High Sheriff of Rutland, member of the Independent Agricultural Appeals Panel, trustee Rutland Agricultural Society.

Mr Lindsay Hargreaves of Suffolk - managing director of Frederick Hiam Ltd, farming 3200ha (8000 acres) in East Anglia and Wales, producing vegetables, arable crops and milk. Specialist in farming at scale and water for agriculture. Nuffield Scholar and Fellow of the Royal Agricultural Societies. Farmers Club Membership Committee member, 1985 chairman of Under 30s. 

Mr Nick Helme of Herefordshire - farmer and engineering consultant in waste and renewable energy industry, founder and long-time managing director of 7Y Machinery Ring farm co-operative, Nuffield Scholar and Associate of the Royal Agricultural Societies. Farmers Club House Committee member.  

Mr Peter Jinman of Herefordshire - veterinary surgeon and smallholder. Past president of Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons and British Veterinary Association; chairman of Farm Animal Welfare Committee DEFRA; non-executive director of Independent Assured Food Standards (Red Tractor), lay member of House of Commons Standards Committee. Current chairman of Farmers Club House Committee.

The Chairman of the Club would like to thank all those who stood for the five vacant positions and all members who participated in the ballot too.